Scholarship Program

As a community, it’s important to empower our younger generations to strive for excellence. Community Credit Union does our part to do just that. We offer an annual scholarship to students who exhibit the academic excellence and drive to make their dreams a reality.

The Charles and Betty Demakis Memorial Scholarship is our way of investing in our community’s future leaders. We offer 2 annual scholarships for high school students who are entering into a 4 year accredited college or university.

  • 1st award: $2,000
  • 2nd award: $1,000

Scholarship Program History

The memorial scholarship is dedicated to Charles and Betty Demakis in memory of their long-time support of our credit union. Charles Demakis was also a well-known attorney in Lynn and a founding board member of Community Credit Union. The scholarship honors our original commitment to provide honest and fair financial services to all.


Eligibility Requirements

Applicants must:

  • Must be or have a parent or guardian who is a member of Community Credit Union for at least two years from the receipt of the application
  • Attend high school within 25 miles of Lynn, MA
  • Have acceptance to a 4 year accredited college or university in the United States

Community Credit Union will determine the winners based on the following criteria:

  • SAT/ACT combined score,
  • Class ranking,
  • Grade point average,
  • Length of credit union membership as a percentage of age.

How to Apply

Click here to download the application.

The deadline to submit all documentation to Community Credit Union is May 31st.

Scholarship winners will be announced in June and scholarships will be awarded when the winning students matriculate.